Skip to content

Why I’ll Port I

5 August 2011

Thanks to Mobile Number Portability, I want to switch network (of course without losing my number). I owe my current network nothing. I’ve been on it faithfully, no tiresomely since 2003 or so. The only service I’ll say I enjoyed very much was family and friends. However, I don’t even call those family and friends that often. Recently, I have had some little time with their mobile money too. Frankly, I used it for airtime topup when I really felt lazy to go out to buy a voucher.

On the other hand, I’m infuriated with the trickery.. so I exclaim, “Enough is enough”. If my current network were honey, I’d have eaten honey for about 8 years. Now I would like to taste cinnamon. Honestly, I want to port for porting sake, but I want to explore my landing ports too so I don’t get out of the frying pan into the fire. After all they all belong to the Ghana Chamber of Telecomms. For sometime, I got to use Airtel and so I can vouch a bit for the information they are providing on their ‘porting’ website: http://www.move2airtel.com/WhyMovetoAirtel.aspx…. They give 8 reasons why one should ‘move to Airtel’; presented below. Find my comments stricken through.

1. Most affordable local call rates
  • 8Gp/min vs. average of 13Gp/min by other networks (peak time) TRUE
  • 1.5Gp/min vs. average of 9.2Gp/min by other networks (off peak)
    POSSIBLE, BUT CAN’T VERIFY
  • FREE midnight calls
    YES BUT, IT’S AS IF YOU STANDING IN THE MIDDLE OF A HANGAR WITH
    100 AEROPLANE ENGINES RUNNING… IT APPLIES TO ALL THE NETWORKS
    I’VE USED THOUGH
  • Payback – get 10% bonus on all calls received from airtel and
    3% bonus on calls received from other local networks…UNVERIFIED
2. Most affordable international call rates  …UNVERIFIED
Local rates to select destinations

  • Mobile & fixed lines – US, Canada, China, India
  • Fixed lines only – UK and Germany
3. Best-in-class customer service delivery
  • Efficient and accessible customer care points
  • 24 hour access to call center (111)… THEY HAVE CHANGED IT TO 121…
    BEWARE OF CONGESTION; ITS CONTINUOUSLY BECOMING DIFFICULT
    TO GET TO SPEAK TO A CSP APPARENTLY BECAUSE YOUR
    PEOPLE ARE JOINING YOUR NETWORK. DON’T BRAG ABOUT THIS ONE
4. Ghana’s 1st 3.5G broadband internet
I TOTALLY DISAGREE… 30GHC for 1.75GB IS RIP-OFF,
ACCEPT IT.. DO THE COMPARISON YOURSELVES
  • Most reliable
  • Most affordable (with daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly packages)
  • Most relevant (on phone, computer, tablet and other access devices)
5. Corporate social responsibility
THIS IS UP TO YOU… IT SHOULD NOT BE A REASON FOR A CUSTOMER TO PORT
  • Touching Lives
  • Improving access and quality of education in underprivileged communities
  • Supporting sports development among the youth
6. Innovation (Mobile commerce & One Network)
YET TO TRY THESE, BUT I’M SURE THEY WORK
Mobile commerce

  • Send and receive money safely and conveniently from your mobile phone
  • Pay for goods and services
  • Top-up your mobile account
One Network

  • Discounted call rates when roaming
  • Top up with local cards in the destination country
  • Call local lines at local rates in the destination country
7. Ghana’s fastest growing network
YES, POSSIBLY HEADING TOWARDS CONGESTION..
GUARD AGAINST IT AND EXPAND ALONGSIDE, ESPECIALLY CUSTOMER SERVICE
Modern and advanced network infrastructure
8. Convenient and affordable recharge cards
I TH9UGHT YOU SHOULD BE PROMOTING AIRTEL MONEY
  • Convenient recharges with scratch cards, credit transfer, airtel Money, Me2U
  • Flexible recharge denominations from as low as Gp50
13 Comments
  1. bright gyamfi koranteng AKOSA MlA JHS permalink

    please anytime i load a 30 cedi as an internet for a month it runs out within some few days and do not understand i have tried several times to reach your customer care but to no avail.i wound want to move to a different network do convince for i have already made my mind

    • Hello Bright,
      it is your right
      to port
      anytime you want
      so be bold, and don’t be intimidated
      I don’t work for any network, so I won’t convince you… you own your phone and the number thereof

  2. Merely wanna input on few general things, The website design and style is perfect, the written content is very fantastic : D.

Share your thoughts with us...

